Tacky scratchy!

February 27, 2006

How many times this happened to you that a friend of yours borrows some CDs from you and vanishes in thin air without any trace only to crash in your place a couple months later to “check on” with you and give you back something which happens to belong to you. So, after like a couple months you get your stuffs back, not to mention some rather scratchy looking *artworks* on the shiny side of quite a few of them. This should be a rather accustomed kinda matter provided that you have a decent CD collection and some amazingly (un??) grateful friends. However, when those CDs happen to contain one of your esteemed and most preferred stuff, this kinda situation, no matter how customary, should get onto your nerves real badly. So, there I was, starring blankly on those zigzagged lines on top of the shiny silvery background, I did not understand why it felt as if those were not mere lines, I felt as if those lines were actually cast on my flesh, engraved almost, unchangeable and immutable, as if divine proclamation had been pronounce upon me! Lol.. okay.. I might be exaggerating a bit but I was basically mortified after I found my beloved authentic DVD version of the simply awesome unplugged performance of the Eagles from the year 1994 that my uncle sent me from the states a couple years back, in that kind of state.

So, there I was, desperate to find a way to retrieve the data from the disk. I found numerous tools in the internet that claim to be effective in retrieving data from CDs, no matter how damaged. I gave every friggin one of them a shot only to find my drive in even a seemingly worse condition than the DVD itself, which was rather natural after all those bullying sessions it had to cope with me. It took me quite a bit of time to realize that making it do something that it didn’t want to do on the first place wasn’t such a great idea after all. That was one of those rare few occasions in my life when I decided to consult professional help rather than my own knowledge. I coughed up a few hundreds bucks to get myself a copy of the original one and had to be satisfied with it.

Anyways, obviously CDs don’t last forever and scratches sure can pose some major problems with your CD. For those people who had faced or are facing similar kinda problems and are really desperate to fetch the data from the damaged CD, might find this tutorial from hardwaresecrets rather useful.

Was the CD’s contents are preserved, a scratched CD can be recovered by polishing its plastic surface. If, after carrying out the above cleansing, the CD persists in giving reading errors, just polish the CD with toothpaste. That’s right, toothpaste. It works wonders, and you won’t spend a fortune buying professional cleaning kits. Polish the scratches with a cotton swab, rubbing gently the paste-imbued swab over the scratches until they disappear or until you notice that you have removed them as far as possible. Sometimes the paste may cause new scratching, but it will be merely superficial and easily removed. After clearing the scratches, wash the CD in water.

Hope you guys have more luck with the digital resurrection thing than i had myself!

Leave a Reply

